My
race is Saturday at noon and I am ridiculously nervous. I’m checking the
weather all the time, hoping that it will both warm up so that I’m not the only
one – again – not wearing a wetsuit and that the thunderstorms pass. Running in
squishy shoes isn’t great. I have laid out all my stuff, trying to make sure
that I don’t forget anything crucial, like bike shoes or helmet or bike. I need
to remember all my energy bars, and waters, too. And also a tarp of some sort
to keep my things dry. I am not happy with my cycling shoes in that they are
new and I haven’t raced with them yet – more for the transition than the actual
cycling part. They are really hard to run in and while I have done a few tries
of running barefoot with my bike with my shoes already clipped in to speed up
the transition, I’m still undecided as to whether I should actually try it out
at the race or just hobble along on the slippery biking shoes. I have one last
bike session tomorrow and maybe that’s when I will finally decide. Or maybe
not.
With
it being cool, it will be easy to not want to hydrate adequately and that could
be bad. Although, the last time I ran this, I don’t remember having any energy
bars with me. I do however remember that the swim was so cold, that I couldn’t
feel my pinkies after, I put on long sleeves for the bike and that it took more
than half the bike leg to warm up again. So this weekend’s weather is
bothersome.
I
am also trying to eat wisely, without changing too much. My big concern is that
the race starts at noon – and I generally work out before 8am, so the food as
energy timing is going to be a bit off, plus the usual jitters aren’t going to
calm my stomach at all. I think if I just have the usual pre workout breakfast,
but maybe a bit later and then munch on complex carbs and water throughout the
morning I should be ok. It’s also only about a 3hour event, so I’m probably
overthinking for nothing. I hope.
I
have decided to go to the track by myself and my husband and kids (my own
personal cheering section) will follow later. I want to be there a bit early
and they will be doing lots of waiting around as it is. There is also an
information session tomorrow night, so I will better be able to get my bearings
and find out where to park and what time to come at.
So
many things to worry about…
No comments:
Post a Comment