A
few new things since I ran the triathlon last week. I bought myself a fancy
triathlon unitard and cycling shoes and clips. I’m still not entirely
comfortable in the shoes as I feel really stuck in them, and what with drivers
the way they are here in Montreal, I feel like even more of a target. I also
haven’t practiced getting into them on the fly either. I really should figure
out how to do that before race day. It’s really awkward walking in them, since
you have to put all your weight on your heels, because where your toes and ball
of feet would hit the pavement are slippery plastic in the shoes, so no grip,
and I feel like Bambi on ice. Found a
video on Youtube how to fasten the shoes to the bike with elastics to keep them
upright and will try to practice getting on and off the bike like that. I’ll be
doing that in a very secluded and soft area, as I’m sure I am going to go for a
few spills. I also took my bike for a sort of tune up, and the wonderful bike
techie at MacWhinnies didn’t disagree that perhaps I should get new tires. I
have had this set since I bought the bike way back when, and I have been
thinking that it’s about time for them to go, somewhere in the next few hundred
kilometers or so.
I
also rented a wetsuit for the race that I’m hoping I wont have to wear. I’ve
never worn one swimming before and I really don’t want to start now, nor do I
want to practice getting out of it while wet. But I suppose I should – one less
thing to worry about for the race.
I
have a huge week coming up – 60k bike rides, 3km swims and 16km runs and then I
taper for the two weeks after that. Then, gulp, it’s race day.
Happily,
though, I have a great new 60 minute hill run that I have also been using for
10 km run – from home up to Cote des Neiges and then around the mountain to
Beaver Lake and then home. It might not be 10 km officially, but it’s such a
great downhill all the way home that I feel like a gazelle.
I’m
starting to panic a bit about the actual race. I don’t have any one to tell me
that the training I am doing is adequate, nor is there anyone else out there
telling me that I will be fine (that I fully believe or trust).
The
race starts at noon for the women, which for me is a horrible time. I’m an
early morning exerciser and eater, so I’m going to have to figure out how to
eat enough so that I have enough energy for most of the race, without having to
eat differently than I have been. Plus, what on earth am I going to do all
morning besides panic? Any and all suggestions are welcome.
You are ready and you will be fine....as soon as you stop worrying about everything!!
ReplyDeleteYou are ready...get out there and do it - have fun!