Tuesday, 19 June 2012

Tour du Lac Brome 10k



On Sunday June 17th, I ran the Tour du Lac Brome 10km race. It was my first race in this year and I figured a 10k would be just the right thing to go through the logistics of a race. I spent the previous night at a friends cottage to avoid the morning of the race chaos and stress of getting there on time. As it was, arriving at 7:50 was pretty late, as everyone else seemed to arrive at the same time. After parking in the farmers’ field, we hurried to get our race kits (one line) and then our goody bag (another line). And this is how I lost my gang. I decided to slowly line up for the buses taking us out to the finish in hopes of meeting up with everyone again, or at least spotting them in the line. Eventually my bus drove off and I still hadn’t spotted anyone familiar. I was wearing a very bright pink top, and so would have been very easy to spot in a sea of black tops. The bus ride seemed a lot farther than 10km, and the course was a lot hillier than I imagined. A bit disconcerting. Whatever nerves I wasn’t having, were now waking up from their slumber…

At the start, 5 busloads after mine, I found my running gang. Made up of my neighbor, who talked me into this race, her sister in law who sprinted the Ottawa half marathon in 1:45, her husband, another gazelle and another of her friends who was a race newbie, I was somewhat intimidated and fully nervous now. Maybe I hadn’t properly trained. In fact, I hadn’t really trained for a 10k, I have just put in mileage to date. I hadn’t thought about what I should have eaten, because for a normal 10k run workout, I don’t eat anything unusual. No gels, no energy drink, no bars. And that seemed to be all that anyone around me was talking about. I felt less and less confident and decided to pretend like it was no big deal and that I would finish when I finished and run my own race. The race started somewhat anti-climatically as we suddenly found ourselves moving forward and across the start line. Ooops – go! So we started out. I ran with my neighbor for a few kilometers, but then she pulled away from me. After the fiddlers at around kilometer 3, I was running alone. It was hot and there were lots of runners – 4000 or so, I think I heard. I wasn’t wearing my iPod, and at first I regretted it, but as I ran, I liked being really aware of my surroundings. Listening to all the footsteps, all the breathing, the thumping coming out of others iPods, and there was a harpist at around kilometer 2. 

The course is really quite hilly. I don’t really mind hills, I just need to know when they end and which is the last one. I hadn’t done my research and so was running blind in a way. I did know, though, that kilometer 5 was at the top of the longest hill. And sure enough after kilometer 4, we started up a slow, seemingly endless climb. Then I heard drummers. They held a nice fast beat, rhythmic and energetic with encouragement too. Getting louder and louder as we all trudged up that ridiculous hill. I swear they absolutely pulled me up that hill. At the top, there they were, the two of them, in a tent banging and beating away with great big grins on their faces, cheering us on. And just beyond, was the 5km marker. Such a welcome sight! I let the downhill work to my advantage – this is new for me, I have usually tried to slow down going downhill. So I accelerated as much as my legs let me and was steadily catching up and passing targets ahead of me. And the hills just kept coming and the flats weren’t all that flat. It’s a beautiful run, though, hugging Lake Brome on the right and the inns, estates and golf courses on the left. The trees gave much needed shade and there were lots of people cheering along the road. 

Between kilometer 7 and 8, I was in need of something to help me out. I wasn’t fading, but I needed something to keep me going. So I tried to figure out where I would be on my usual run in relation to the kilometer markers. It worked to a point, until my brain kicked in and told my delusional self that if I keep thinking "that" was only 1 kilometer, it would come over and slap some sense into it. So I tried doing math –dividing the kilometers into quarters, how many quarters had I run and how many were left. That didn’t even take up a whole kilometer, real or delusional. So I picked up some water, ran through some of the hoses and targeted more people ahead of me. I kept looking at my watch for help. But it just gave me how much time I had been running, not how much was left. I’m really good at getting to a known finish line, but if I can’t see the finish line, I figure I should slow down to be extra sure that I make it there. But I kept running. And running. There certainly is a whole variety of running shoes out there – the regular ones, ones that looked more suited to sprinting and the five-toed ones. They can’t be all that comfortable to run in can they? Are running skirts better than spandex shorts or running shorts? There was a lady that I passed who was wearing a thong under her spandex shorts. I spent several hundred meters contemplating how comfortable that could possibly be to run in. I was coming into town now, and could spot the tower near the finish line, so I picked it up. And then I past the 8km marker. Better slow down – there is no way I can sprint 2 kilometres in this heat. Who am I kidding? I can't sprint 2 kilometres ever. A few more sprinklers to run through and then at 9km, I tried as best I could to pick it up. A right hand turn and I saw the farmer’s field finish line. Crap – the finish isn’t on the road but a few hundred meters off the road. The thought of throwing up started entering my head. I crossed the line absolutely exhausted and in desperate need of water and shade. Happily they were handing water out just past the finish line.

I looked at my watch 59:09. Stunned. I can barely run a 5 kilometer treadmill set in under 30 minutes and I have never broken 1 hour for a 10k. I’m by no means a gazelle, I like to think of my self much more as an efficient lumbering rhino – I may not be fast, but I will finish. And I just did two back to back 5ks in under 30 minutes. I was ecstatic. I grabbed much needed nourishment from the food tent (and beer!) and happily ate, despite my grin.

I'm sticking to "chip" vs "time", if that's ok with you.

On the drive home, I listened to my usual running music, found some new ones that I had forgotten about, windows open, shoes and socks off, munching on my snack, drinking my water and thoroughly pleased with myself.
The drive home


Of course, the next day I had a 40 minute bike ride/20 minute run brick. And I hadn’t stretched after the race. It will be a few days before my legs and I are on speaking terms.

Friday, 8 June 2012

Week 1


I made it through my first week of the full-blown schedule, a little sore, but not too bad all things considered. 

On the swim front, I did one 2000m swim in just under 40 minutes with lots of sprint sets and one easy 1500m swim. I dread long swims because I get bored and then I lose count and the littlest thing can set me off so that I stop. I have been swimming Tuesdays and Thursdays at my local Y pool for over 10 years now and have always generally been in the fast lane. Except for my last trimester of both my pregnancies – then I just couldn’t suck enough oxygen in to my lungs to keep going. That, and a lane mate said that I reminded him of a keel on a boat, which did nothing for my 40 weeks pregnant, hormone raging ego. But now that there are more competitive swimmers training there, I am grumpily in the “moderate” lane – when there are more than 2 in the fast lane, because I hate holding people up and so swim way faster than I can for prolonged laps, and I hate being lapped. The moderate lane is ok, except when there are 2 others who are much slower than I am, and then it’s a constant game of figuring out when I can pass them or cutting my lap short to get ahead of them. This keeps my mind busy, but then I lose count or can’t get into the rhythm.

I also did a 12km run during the week in 1:18, which I feel is really slow, but it IS uphill all the way there…. Usually, I keep the longer runs for the weekends, but it isn’t going to work with the training schedule this time around. I’d like to open up my weekends and keep my training to weekdays. What a difference it makes to run on Mount Royal during the week. The streets there are quiet at 6am, with the newspaper delivery people out, a few people going to work, a few biking pelotons doing the Westmount Hills and only a few other runners. The mountain was nice and quiet and I took my ipod off for that part. I get a little creeped out being out that early, all alone. But then I ran into a dog-walking friend and suddenly the mountain seemed to be a bit reassuringly busier. I had a nice spring in my step coming down off the mountain and ran rather than shuffled the 6km home.


Taking the road bike out this week was an eye-opener. The first ride I did was a quick loop of Mount Royal – so up and over and then around the long way to get mileage. Getting to the top wasn’t so bad, but coming down – Holy cow! First of all, the sun was right in my eyes blinding me and Chemin Camilien Houde is really steep. I don’t know how fast I was going, since my speedometer isn’t working, but I was going really fast. I’m not sure if I was squealing only in my head or not, but none of the hill climbers coming my way seemed to take note. The roads are full of potholes and cracks as ever and while I thought my bum and legs would be sore, it was my wrists that really ached. I need shock absorbers or something.

So it was a great week, training wise and also great to see how managing this schedule will fit into all the other schedules I juggle. 

I also signed up for the Tour du Lac Brome 10 km race that my neighbor coerced me into. That’s happening Sunday, June 17th. I’m hoping to get close to 55 minutes. And I registered for the Esprit Triathlon – Olympic distance in September. So there is no turning back now. Is there?